Scott Woods Makes Lists

In the roiling wake of Beyonce’s new video for “Formation”, I am reminded of a bout of argumentative dissonance I experienced last year when Kendrick Lamar’s record came out. It was an argument I sorely wanted to have, but chose not to publicly. It was loaded with far too much idol worship/hatred, depending on what side of the altar you fell on. However, Beyonce’s new video (the song, not so much) and her Super Bowl halftime appearance is putting me in a corner, so I’ve got to say something so I can move on with my life. In a twist for those who know me, I’m going to defend Beyonce here, while making a point about certain black reactions to political art.

For starters, since black people are not politically or socially or really any other –ly monolithic, you don’t really have to make a case for or against what she’s…

View original post 1,306 more words

Leave a Reply

